Timezone: »

Clustering by Nonnegative Matrix Factorization Using Graph Random Walk
Zhirong Yang · Tele Hao · Onur Dikmen · Xi Chen · Erkki Oja

Mon Dec 03 07:00 PM -- 12:00 AM (PST) @ Harrah’s Special Events Center 2nd Floor

Nonnegative Matrix Factorization (NMF) is a promising relaxation technique for clustering analysis. However, conventional NMF methods that directly approximate the pairwise similarities using the least square error often yield mediocre performance for data in curved manifolds because they can capture only the immediate similarities between data samples. Here we propose a new NMF clustering method which replaces the approximated matrix with its smoothed version using random walk. Our method can thus accommodate farther relationships between data samples. Furthermore, we introduce a novel regularization in the proposed objective function in order to improve over spectral clustering. The new learning objective is optimized by a multiplicative Majorization-Minimization algorithm with a scalable implementation for learning the factorizing matrix. Extensive experimental results on real-world datasets show that our method has strong performance in terms of cluster purity.

Author Information

Zhirong Yang (Aalto University)
Tele Hao (Supercell Oy)
Onur Dikmen (University of Helsinki)
Xi Chen (NYU)

Xi Chen is an associate professor with tenure at Stern School of Business at New York University, who is also an affiliated professor to Computer Science and Center for Data Science. Before that, he was a Postdoc in the group of Prof. Michael Jordan at UC Berkeley. He obtained his Ph.D. from the Machine Learning Department at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU). He studies high-dimensional statistical learning, online learning, large-scale stochastic optimization, and applications to operations. He has published more than 20 journal articles in statistics, machine learning, and operations, and 30 top machine learning peer-reviewed conference proceedings. He received NSF Career Award, ICSA Outstanding Young Researcher Award, Faculty Research Awards from Google, Adobe, Alibaba, and Bloomberg, and was featured in Forbes list of “30 Under30 in Science”.

Erkki Oja (Aalto University)

More from the Same Authors