Timezone: »

Differential Privacy via Group Shuffling
Amir Mohammad Abouei · Clement Canonne
Event URL: https://openreview.net/forum?id=j7WJc7-VKZM »

The past decade has seen data privacy emerge as a fundamental and pressing issue. Among the tools developed to tackle it, differential privacy has emerged as a central and principled framework, with specific variants capturing various threat models. In particular, the recently proposed shuffle model of differential privacy allows for promising tradeoffs between accuracy and privacy. However, the shuffle model may not be suitable in all situations, as it relies on a distributed setting where all users can coordinate and trust (or simulate) a joint shuffling algorithm. To address this, we introduce a new model, the group shuffle model, in which users are partitioned into several groups, each group having its own local shuffler. We investigate the privacy/accuracy tradeoffs in our model, by comparing it to both the shuffle and local models of privacy, which it some sense interpolates between. In addition to general relations between group shuffle, shuffle, and local privacy, we provide a detailed comparison of the cost and benefit of the group shuffle model, by providing both upper and lower bounds for the specific task of binary summation.

Author Information

Amir Mohammad Abouei (Sharif University of Technology)
Clement Canonne (University of Sydney)

Related Events (a corresponding poster, oral, or spotlight)

More from the Same Authors

  • 2021 Poster: Distributed Estimation with Multiple Samples per User: Sharp Rates and Phase Transition »
    Jayadev Acharya · Clement Canonne · Yuhan Liu · Ziteng Sun · Himanshu Tyagi
  • 2021 Poster: Information-constrained optimization: can adaptive processing of gradients help? »
    Jayadev Acharya · Clement Canonne · Prathamesh Mayekar · Himanshu Tyagi
  • 2021 Poster: Optimal Rates for Nonparametric Density Estimation under Communication Constraints »
    Jayadev Acharya · Clement Canonne · Aditya Vikram Singh · Himanshu Tyagi
  • 2019 : Poster Session »
    Clement Canonne · Kwang-Sung Jun · Seth Neel · Di Wang · Giuseppe Vietri · Liwei Song · Jonathan Lebensold · Huanyu Zhang · Lovedeep Gondara · Ang Li · FatemehSadat Mireshghallah · Jinshuo Dong · Anand D Sarwate · Antti Koskela · Joonas Jälkö · Matt Kusner · Dingfan Chen · Mi Jung Park · Ashwin Machanavajjhala · Jayashree Kalpathy-Cramer · · Vitaly Feldman · Andrew Tomkins · Hai Phan · Hossein Esfandiari · Mimansa Jaiswal · Mrinank Sharma · Jeff Druce · Casey Meehan · Zhengli Zhao · Hsiang Hsu · Davis Railsback · Abraham Flaxman · · Julius Adebayo · Aleksandra Korolova · Jiaming Xu · Naoise Holohan · Samyadeep Basu · Matthew Joseph · My Thai · Xiaoqian Yang · Ellen Vitercik · Michael Hutchinson · Chenghong Wang · Gregory Yauney · Yuchao Tao · Chao Jin · Si Kai Lee · Audra McMillan · Rauf Izmailov · Jiayi Guo · Siddharth Swaroop · Tribhuvanesh Orekondy · Hadi Esmaeilzadeh · Kevin Procopio · Alkis Polyzotis · Jafar Mohammadi · Nitin Agrawal