Timezone: »

Distributed Distributionally Robust Optimization with Non-Convex Objectives
Yang Jiao · Kai Yang · Dongjin Song

Thu Dec 01 02:00 PM -- 04:00 PM (PST) @ Hall J #602
Distributionally Robust Optimization (DRO), which aims to find an optimal decision that minimizes the worst case cost over the ambiguity set of probability distribution, has been applied in diverse applications, e.g., network behavior analysis, risk management, etc. However, existing DRO techniques face three key challenges: 1) how to deal with the asynchronous updating in a distributed environment; 2) how to leverage the prior distribution effectively; 3) how to properly adjust the degree of robustness according to difference scenarios. To this end, we propose an asynchronous distributed algorithm, named Asynchronous Single-looP alternatIve gRadient projEction (ASPIRE) algorithm with the itErative Active SEt method (EASE) to tackle the distributed distributionally robust optimization (DDRO) problem. Furthermore, a new uncertainty set, i.e., constrained $D$-norm uncertainty set, is developed to effectively leverage the prior distribution and flexibly control the degree of robustness. Finally, our theoretical analysis elucidates that the proposed algorithm is guaranteed to converge and the iteration complexity is also analyzed. Extensive empirical studies on real-world datasets demonstrate that the proposed method can not only achieve fast convergence, remain robust against data heterogeneity and malicious attacks, but also tradeoff robustness with performance.

Author Information

Yang Jiao (Tongji University)
Kai Yang (Tongji University)
Dongjin Song (University of Connecticut)

More from the Same Authors

  • 2022 Poster: CGLB: Benchmark Tasks for Continual Graph Learning »
    Xikun Zhang · Dongjin Song · Dacheng Tao
  • 2019 : Poster Session »
    Gergely Flamich · Shashanka Ubaru · Charles Zheng · Josip Djolonga · Kristoffer Wickstrøm · Diego Granziol · Konstantinos Pitas · Jun Li · Robert Williamson · Sangwoong Yoon · Kwot Sin Lee · Julian Zilly · Linda Petrini · Ian Fischer · Zhe Dong · Alexander Alemi · Bao-Ngoc Nguyen · Rob Brekelmans · Tailin Wu · Aditya Mahajan · Alexander Li · Kirankumar Shiragur · Yair Carmon · Linara Adilova · SHIYU LIU · Bang An · Sanjeeb Dash · Oktay Gunluk · Arya Mazumdar · Mehul Motani · Julia Rosenzweig · Michael Kamp · Marton Havasi · Leighton P Barnes · Zhengqing Zhou · Yi Hao · Dylan Foster · Yuval Benjamini · Nati Srebro · Michael Tschannen · Paul Rubenstein · Sylvain Gelly · John Duchi · Aaron Sidford · Robin Ru · Stefan Zohren · Murtaza Dalal · Michael A Osborne · Stephen J Roberts · Moses Charikar · Jayakumar Subramanian · Xiaodi Fan · Max Schwarzer · Nicholas Roberts · Simon Lacoste-Julien · Vinay Prabhu · Aram Galstyan · Greg Ver Steeg · Lalitha Sankar · Yung-Kyun Noh · Gautam Dasarathy · Frank Park · Ngai-Man (Man) Cheung · Ngoc-Trung Tran · Linxiao Yang · Ben Poole · Andrea Censi · Tristan Sylvain · R Devon Hjelm · Bangjie Liu · Jose Gallego-Posada · Tyler Sypherd · Kai Yang · Jan Nikolas Morshuis