NeurIPS 2020 Call for Socials

Description:

We are very happy to call for social events at the coming NeurIPS 2020.

The social events can provide an excellent opportunity for those with a common interest to meet up, discuss, collaborate, argue, or celebrate. People are also encouraged to provide mentorship sessions. Given the unprecedented times that we are going through, we are happy to consider any virtual-creative idea. We solicit proposals from all registered NeurIPS attendees on any scientific or non-scientific topic that are deemed to enrich the community.

Requirements:

The proposers are kindly requested to provide a short paragraph in which the scope of the social will be described. Each proposal should be backed by at least two organizers (preferably working at different institutions) who will be responsible for the organization of the event, and at least 6 guests who plan to attend. Organizers and guests should be registered participants of NeurIPS.

What makes a good social event? While our vision is to have a broad range of social events that are as diverse as possible, considering the following soft criteria should be helpful:

  • Reasonably broad appeal:
    Each event should appeal to about 100-150 attendees (note here that there might be platform capacity restrictions).

  • Focus on social aspects:
    Rather than providing a stage for regular research talks, events should attempt to create a less formal environment that encourages discussion between all attendees. Open debates, round-table discussions, hands-on tutorials, coaching sessions and other forms of academic speed dating are encouraged.

  • Get creative with the topics:
    There are numerous interests that connect us both within and beyond machine learning and AI, and we’d be thrilled to host social events organized around less technical topics.

  • Diversity and inclusion:
    We aim to host a diverse range of events that represent all parts of the NeurIPS community, and also to help visibility of unprivileged minorities. That said, all socials should be accessible for everyone that wishes to participate.

 

What we provide:

The selected social events will be hosted online in between major sessions (mid program), as an official part of NeurIPS 2020 (they are expected to take place during the main conference at either 12pm - 4pm PT == 3pm - 7pm ET == 9pm - 1am EU == 4am - 8am Taipei, or 12am - 4am PT == 3am - 7am ET == 9am - 1pm EU == 4pm - 8pm Taipei ). Since the NeurIPS foundation does not provide any direct funding, socials should find their own sources of funding. The maximum duration of each social should be 4 hours.

 

Code of conduct:

Being part of NeurIPS 2020, social events are subject to the general code of conduct of the meeting.

Important dates:

  • Deadline: Sep 18, 2020 11:59 PM AOE or

  • Notification: Oct 02, 2020 06:00 PM PDT or

 

How to apply:

To apply, please provide a 1-page pdf file including the names and institutions of the organizers and the guests, along with a short description of the activities planned at the proposed social event. Proposals will be evaluated by a small committee led by the social chairs.

Applications should be sent to:

social@neurips.cc

 

Contact:

If you need any information, please feel free to contact us at:

social@neurips.cc

 

Hope to see many of you there!

 

The Social co-chairs
Maria Skoularidou
Vukosi Marivate